SF & Fantasy

50 Page Fridays: Paula Brandon


50 Page Fridays: Paula Brandon

Every Friday, we here @ Del Rey Spectra will place a 50 page excerpt of a selected title on Suvudu. Whether it is science fiction, epic fantasy, alternate history, horror, urban fantasy, paranormal, the possibilities are endless.

THE RUINED CITY is the highly anticipated second book in Paula Brandon’s Veiled Isles Trilogy. With an eclectic mix of magic, zombies, and romance, this series offers something for everyone, and the latest installment does not disappoint. DRS editor Anne Groell shares her own thoughts and a few rave reviews below:

“When I spoke to you last fall about Paula Brandon’s debut novel, THE TRAITOR’S DAUGHTER, I raved about how much I loved this book and this series—and none of that has changed. The second novel in the trilogy, THE RUINED CITY, is just as wonderful as the first, filled with humor, romance, and delicious moral complexity. But this time, instead of just listening to me rave, I thought it might be nice to show what the critics had to say.

How about: “Brandon’s debut, the first in a projected trilogy, is an impressively imaginative epic disguised as an unassuming romantic fantasy…While the revolutionary and romantic threads are engaging, it is Brandon’s multilayered narrative that makes this novel such an immersive reading experience. Rich world-building, relentless pacing, and some tantalizing subplots suggest that Brandon is an author to watch.” (Publishers Weekly on The Traitor’s Daughter)

Or: “This trilogy opener, with its lush backgrounds and detailed society, should appeal to fans of Jacqueline Carey and Melanie Rawn.” (Library Journal) And: “Readers who like epic, intrigue-filled fantasy, such as George R.R. Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire series…should enjoy Brandon’s.” (Booklist)

And, for THE RUINED CITY, Publishers Weekly adds: “[An] ambitiously creative story…Brandon’s character development is exceptional, as is her ability to interweave numerous story lines into a briskly paced narrative…Fantasy and romance fans looking for something unusual will find this amalgamation wildly entertaining.”

High praise and great company, indeed—and amply deserved. If you haven’t dipped in yet, I hope you will. I know you will enjoy it!”

As always, feel free to give us feedback in the comments. Or let us know on Twitter via a direct message to our esteemed Twitter maven, editor David Pomerico: www.twitter.com/delreyspectra. Or write on the wall of our Facebook page: Like us at www.facebook.com/delreyspectra

Please enjoy this excerpt of THE RUINED CITY by Paula Brandon, on sale February 28th!

THE RUINED CITY by Paula Brandon, Excerpt


Leave a Comment




Ad

Del Rey Spectra 50 Page Fridays

New Releases


Del Rey Spectra on Facebook