About Del Rey and Spectra

Del Rey BooksDel Rey Books began as an imprint of Ballantine Books in 1977 with the bestselling The Sword of Shannara by Terry Brooks (which was the first novel to hit the New York Times trade bestseller list). Begun by editor Judy-Lynn del Rey with the editorial assistance of her husband, author and editor Lester del Rey, Del Rey Books quickly grew into the most robust science fiction/fantasy imprint in the field. Over the years, our list has grown beyond Terry Brooks to include Arthur C. Clarke, Isaac Asimov, Stephen Donaldson, Anne McCaffrey, David Eddings, Larry Niven, Alan Dean Foster, Katherine Kurtz, Jack L. Chalker, Barbara Hambly, and many other familiar names.

Del Rey BooksCelebrating its twenty-fifth anniversary, Spectra has been publishing the finest science fiction, fantasy, horror, and speculative novels from recognizable authors including Isaac Asimov, Ray Bradbury, Arthur C. Clarke, George R. R. Martin, Kim Stanley Robinson, and M. John Harrison.


Del Rey Spectra 50 Page Fridays

New Releases

Del Rey Spectra on Facebook